Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Thought I’d show you the different gold and silver glitters that I own to compare. Since comparisons are nice😛 I didn’t include colored glitters like green and pink and so on, this is just silver and gold ones on a clear base.
They’re all swatched on top of OPI Black Onyx which is.. yes, you guessed it, a black creme😀 All of them are swatched with one coat.
Click on the picture to see it bigger, WordPress loves to squeeze things into a 500 pixel width so you won’t be able to see much. This is in daylight:

Left to right: Nubar Tiara, Nubar Gilded Gold, Essie Pure Pearlfection, Essie As Gold As It Gets, China Glaze Fairy Dust, China Glaze Snow Globe.

Nubar Tiara is a glitter with relatively small particles. It’s all rainbow-y but there are more greens in there then other colors.
Nubar Gilded Gold is on a hazy base, not quite clear and the gold is not shiny, it’s not so much of a glitter as an effect polish really. Though you can layer it up and it will go opaque as well.
Essie Pure Pearlfection is a very tiny and dense silver microglitter. In daylight, it’s just silver. In lamplight, not so much but we’ll get to that in a moment.
Essie As Gold As It Gets is a gold glitter, it’s on a clear base and it’s shiny. So it’s very different from Nubars Gilded Gold.
China Glaze Fairy Dust is one interesting glitter. It looks completely like silver microglitter in daylight but in lamplight it goes holo-nuts😀
China Glaze Snow Globe is a chunkier glitter with tons of different colors flashing through even in daylight. The glitter particles are varied, they’re not all the same shape and size.

Now lets look at this in lamplight and out of focus (since that seems to bring out what the glitter looks like best), it’s still nowhere near as good of a picture as I’d like but you should have seen me taking it, you’d understand😀 :

So same order: Nubar Tiara, Nubar Gilded Gold, Essie Pure Pearlfection, Essie As Gold As It Gets, China Glaze Fairy Dust, China Glaze Snow Globe.

I only managed to get Fairy Dust to show a little of its color but trust me, if the light hits it right, it goes ablaze with color.
Other than that, there aren’t many changes in the coloring of glitters. Essie Pure Pearlfection loves to go holo at times as well but that happens under very specific light conditions which I didn’t manage to replicate. You can however see the effect in I think my second post where I layered it on top of Midnight in Moscow and gave you guys a crappy lamplight picture. But don’t go digging for it, here it is:

In any case, I hope this is helpful somehow. I’m still gathering up the Essie Luxeffects collection slowly but surely but other than that, I think I’m fine when it comes to glitter now😀 Except for the China Glaze Luxe and Lush (was that the name?) which is coming in March in the Capitol Colours collection. That one is a must-have as well.

I still haven’t taken off the Freaky Boheme manicure, haven’t had the time. Hopefully I’ll have you guys a new manicure on Thursday though! Until then, take care! And happy.. er.. Bun Day?😀 It has no name in English as far as I can tell but this is what awaits me today:

Photo credit goes to Elina kokkab.