Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I landed myself a bottle of Beyu 209 through The Swatchaholic who had a blog sale some time ago. Beyu 209 (also known as Brilliant Shiraz) is supposed to be a kindred spirit to Clarins 230 which is the one polish I covet the most and will most likely never have. So I jumped on the chance to get something even remotely similar. However…
This is Beyu 209 in the bottle:

I tried it over two different colors on my nails and on about seven different colors on the nail wheel. I’ll show you the two I tried on myself. First, Beyu 209 over OPI It’s My Year which is a lighter purple with tons of gold shimmer.

And at an angle:

And here’s Beyu 209 layered over a-england Bridal Veil which is a black holo:

At an angle:

So in my opinion Beyu 209 is a beautiful polish, it’s quite sheer and lends a ton of layering options. And now the however part. In my opinion it doesn’t hold a candle to Clarins 230 since this really doesn’t show much duochrome and while I don’t regret buying it, I wouldn’t buy a second bottle simply because I was expecting it to be more then it is. So if you’re looking to get a cheaper and more available replacement for Clarins 203, this isn’t it in my opinion.

It’s still beautiful though. One more over a-england Bridal Veil in indoors lighting:

So yes, my two cents on this polish🙂 See you guys tomorrow and enjoy your Sunday!