Tags

, , , , , , ,

Interrupting the regular schedule to talk about something unheard of that happened the other day. I won in a Max Factor Facebook game. I never win anything so needless to say I was shocked. I got my prizes yesterday morning and tried them out and just had to share with all of you. I must admit I’ve never really used MaxFactor products before, just one mascara which didn’t suit me since I have very sensitive eyes and most mascaras burn like there’s no tomorrow. So I was curious to see how these work and this is my honest opinion of them.

This is what I got:

First, the Smoky Eye Effect cream eyeshadow. This is in Bronze Haze. One side of it is a light shimmery nude-ish color, the other a dark shimmery brown.
Second, the False Lash Effect Fusion mascara in black.

Swatches of the Smoky Eye Effect:

And on the eyes:

False Lash Effect Fusion on my eyelashes, Smoky Eye Effect on the lids. As a highlight I used a white by Lumene which I really like, it’s a great highlighter.
Smoky Eye Effect is like I said a cream eyeshadow. It’s insanely easy to apply, I think even my 9-year old could do it with no trouble and get a great result. No brushes necessary, you can easily blend with your finger (which I like since I don’t have a ton of brushes and I’m lazy anyway). To my surprise this didn’t look half bad on me, my skin is cool-toned and all kinds of warm tones tend to look awkward on me. But these work! They’re very soft and creamy and nice. The only con I found was that they do tend to crease after a few hours (specially because I have hooded eyes which don’t exactly help the issue). It should be fine if you set it with a translucent powder or something. In any case, I think it’s a lovely addition to my daily makeup. These sticks come in a variety of colors, I looked at the different options on their website and I must say, I think I want more! There’s even a lime green in there (I’m all about lime green at the moment).
False Lash Effect Fusion surprised me. Like I said, most mascaras burn like crazy. My safe bet for a mascara is the Bourjois one for sensitive eyes which I like but it is prone to clumps and I like natural-looking lashes. False Lash Effect Fusion however surprised me. Not only does it not burn (a miracle!), it has a really awesome brush and doesn’t clump at all. I wouldn’t say you get a false lash effect with this but I’m definitely impressed by it. I did two light coats and got exactly what I like – no clumps and a natural look. As for cons, it did smudge a bit by the end of the day. Didn’t give me a raccoon look but there were small smudges under my eyes and on my lids. But overall it’s a great product and I’ll definitely be using this and perhaps even buy another one when I’m done with this.

So overall, I’m really happy with both of these and not just saying that because I won themπŸ™‚ Both of these products were definitely a very pleasant surprise, thumbs up!
Thank you, Max Factor!
Check out their home pageπŸ™‚
Have you used Max Factor items? What is your favorite?

Tomorrow I’ll return to my normal schedule and as promised, the Glambox review will be up tomorrow around lunchtime. I still have two products left to test so that’s what I’ll be doing today!πŸ˜›