Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Chapter one – Studio Cream eyeliners
Chapter two – Waterproof Eyeliner pens
Chapter three – eyeshadows
Chapter four – lip products

Lets continue with the ELF madness! Almost done! The last post will be about their brushes and from then on, I’ll write about them if/when I get something new. I do have their undereye setting powder on the way so I’ll probably write about that at some point in the future πŸ™‚

So! Misc items that didn’t really fit in anywhere else.


Wet Gloss Lash And Brow Clear Mascara – I bought this for my eyebrows. I usually use the Tweezerman clear brow gel but I figured I’d try this out since it’s a MUCH cheaper alternative. Anyway it performs well, sets the eyebrows nicely. Only difference I noticed is that Tweezerman version lasts longer, usually the entire day and then some, my eyebrows are still in place after 12 hours. With this, I can get through work and if I want my eyebrows perfectly still, I need to reapply. It’s not bad though, the lasting power is there, it just doesn’t last as long. So I think I would repurchase this. I wouldn’t use it on my eyelashes but for eyebrows, this thingy is a very good option. 1.70€ on the UK site, 1$ on the US site.
Mineral Eyeshadow Primer – a really decent primer. I also have the Too Faced Shadow Insurance and so comparing to that one, this mineral one isn’t half bad! It absolutely beats no primer but it’s not as awesome as the Too Faced one, mostly for lasting and staying. I use Too Faced for my undereye area before applying concealer, that helps with it staying and also against concealer pooling into my fine lines. With the ELF primer, it also works for it but it’s not quite as nice for preventing the fine line party. For eyeshadows, this is brilliant though. Everything stays where it should and the colors just pop! So I’d definitely give this a thumbs up. Oh and I also tried the 1$ primer and the mineral one is definitely a lot better. Mineral eyeshadow primer is 3.50€ (UK) or 3$ (US).
All Over Color Stick in Toasted – this I got in the Jubilee surprise bag which is kind of awesome since I wouldn’t have bought it myself and thus it was cool to try out something I wouldn’t have tried out otherwise. Lets start with a swatch though and then talk some more about this:

Okay so Toasted is a warm bronze color with shimmer in it. It totally doesn’t work with my very light cool-toned skin but that aside, the stick itself is quite a cool concept. I tried it out on a slow day at home (read: when nobody can see me with weird test projects on my face) and its lasting power is quite average, for a cream product it is expected though. If you use it as a cream eyeshadow, you can make it last with primer and some similar eyeshadow but as a bronzer, I suppose if you’re going to set it with a powder, you’d be better off with just powder.
In general, this is a fun idea and not expensive to try out but I’d probably suggest trying out some other color though. This is 1.70€ (UK) or 1$ (US).


Healthy Glow Bronzing Powder in Luminance – this is actually a highlighter, not a bronzer like its name implies. Anyway it’s very nice, silky and smooth texture, slightly shimmery but not insanely so. For me the only trouble is that I’m too light for this. It’s way too close to my skintone to work as a highlighter, it simply won’t show. Which makes me wonder, would my dreams of the Balm highlighter end with a huge disappointment? This particular highlighter works for normal people though, I’m just pale as a ghost πŸ˜€ And for this price, you should try it if you’re looking for a highlighter! 1.70€ (UK), 1$ (US)
Studio Blush in Tickled Pink – I’ve heard so many good things about the Studio blush that this one kind of took me by surprise. It is indeed finely milled and everything but the color payoff is so poor! I don’t know if it’s just Tickled Pink or not but this did make me very hesitant about the other ones as well. This really needs some serious digging to get a little on your face. Strange but oh well. 4.50€ (UK), 3$ (US).
Swatches of both of them (thank god for a slight tan, otherwise you wouldn’t see Luminance at all :D):

Yep, I really had to keep swiping the blush on to make it show up for the swatch. But it is a very pretty and natural pink! That I do like about it.


And last, but not least!
Studio Shimmer Palette – ahhhh, instant love! These are creamy shimmery (but not glittery!) colors that you can use on your entire face, they can work as eyeshadow base or highlighter or whatever you fancy really. I like it that they’re shimmery but more in a glowy way then in a glittery way. I’ve been using the lightest one as a highlighter and it looks fantastic! The only downside is that without setting them with a powder they only last a few hours. And for me, setting the highlighter means losing it. I’ve also worn these as eyeshadow bases and they’re awesome as those too. They make the colors pop! I think this palette is one of my most favorite items from ELF πŸ™‚ 4.50€ (UK), 3$ (US)
Swatches? Sure!

I couldn’t get the colors to show up real well for the picture, all four are different, I promise.

So this was the misc part, next time brushes and at some point, the undereye setting powder. I also got an ELF nail polish in the Jubilee bag that I haven’t tried yet, I’ll give that a go in the future as well and will let you know what I think.

Eyeslipsface USA
Eyeslipsface UK

And now my vacation is over, next vacation next year! But I’ll keep posting, I have so much stuff lined up for you! So stay tuned, next week will be interesting πŸ™‚